The nine League of advanced European Neutron Sources (LENS) founding members are:

Budapest Neutron Centre (BNC), Hungary

European Spallation Source (ESS), Sweden

Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ), Germany

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum (MLZ), Germany

Institute for Energy Technology (IFE), Norway

Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL), France

ISIS Neutron and Muon Source, UK

Laboratoire Léon Brillouin (LLB), France

Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI), Switzerland

The individual members remain independent but together through LENS join forces to support and strengthen European neutron science by creating an effective, collaborating eco-system of neutron facilities. LENS is open to new members in Europe that offer a transnational user programme for the majority of beamtime. The conditions for admission are:

  • the submission of an application documenting the commitment to fulfil the criteria, and describing the facility (or facilities) that would be represented;
  • the acceptance of the application by the General Assembly.